Suspended License

Determine the Status of Your Driver’s License

The Department of Public Safety (DPS) will notify you via mail if your license is suspended. This agency handles all notices and orders that have to do with suspension actions. Therefore, it’s important to make sure the DPS always has your correct address on file. If you are unsure whether the DPS has suspended your license, check your driving record or consult the agency.

Check Your Driving Record

You can conveniently order a driving record through a third-party vendor and avoid going to the DPS (not all states allow you to do this) or you can order in person at a Driver License Division (DLD) Compliance location.

Order your Driving Record Online

You will need to have your Visa, MasterCard, or American Express and visit our page dedicated to driving records.

Call Now: 877-648-8294

Order Driving Record By Mail

  1. Complete an Application for Copy of Driver Record. If you have questions on filling out any portion of the form, contact Customer Service at (512) 424-2600.
  2. Determine which type of driving record available by mail that you’d like. These are listed at the top of this application. They range from $4 to $10.
  3. Include a check or money order payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Mail the application and fee to the DPS:

Driver Records Bureau

Texas Department of Public Safety
P.O. Box 149246
Austin, TX 78714-9246
 

NOTE: It should take two to three weeks to receive your record in the mail. If

you have not received it, you can mail or fax a copy of the canceled check or

money order to the address below. Be sure you copy the front and the back.

and written a small description of why you have sent the payment.

Texas Department of Public Safety
Attn: D.R.B./Driver Records
5805 North Lamar Austin, TX 78752
Fax: (512) 424-7285

 

If you have an out-of-state conviction it will appear on your TX driving record because many states stay in communication through two reliable channels.

The National Driver Register (NDR)  and the Driver License Compact is a computerized database maintained by many of the state motor vehicle agencies to share info nationwide on drivers with revoked or suspended licenses.

You can check your own license history instantly online. If you go to www.BackgroundChecks.com, you will find what you need to check you own background.

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License

Every situation is unique as there are a number of reasons your license could get suspended. To find out the penalties for driving with a suspended license, contact the DPS Driver License Division’s Customer Service Bureau. either by phone or on line. You will find an online form which will require your nam

Contact an Attorney

Getting caught by law enforcement while driving on a suspended license could be bad news. Consider seeking legal advice to play it safe. An experienced attorney could improve your situation.

Obtain a Restricted License

When your license is suspended or revoked (for reasons other than medical issues or delinquent child support) you might be able to apply for an occupational license. It’s a special restricted license that allows you to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle in only three circumstances; Work, school or for carrying out essential household duties. You can request this type of license but you need to have certified copies of the court orders, obtain a SR22 which is a certificate that proves you had the minimum requirements of liability insurance to drive.

 

 

Bottom Sidebar

Disclaimer: Texas-DriversLicense.com is privately owned and is not owned or operated or licensed by, nor affiliated with any federal, state, county, or city government and is not owned, operated or affiliated with any state Department of Motor vehicles. Texas-DriversLicense.com contains general information with respect to United States DMV Offices for informational and educational purposes only and MAKES NO WARRANTY THAT INFORMATION, FORMS AND ANY MATERIALS OFFERED THROUGH THE SITE, WILL BE ACCURATE OR RELIABLE.